Video Games and Lucid Dreams

Via Chas Clifton at Letters from Hardscrabble Creek: Playing video games may make you more able to control your dreams.

Playing video games before bedtime may give people an unusual level of awareness and control in their dreams, LiveScience has learned.

That ability to shape the alternate reality of dream worlds might not match mind-bending Hollywood films such as “The Matrix,” but it could provide an edge when fighting nightmares or even mental trauma.

[…]

“If you’re spending hours a day in a virtual reality, if nothing else it’s practice,” said Jayne Gackenbach, a psychologist at Grant MacEwan University in Canada. “Gamers are used to controlling their game environments, so that can translate into dreams.”

I’ve had several dreams that are structured like video games (especially if I’m on a Final Fantasy binge). It is not uncommon for me to view myself in a dream in an overhead view which then zooms in when I encounter something. I’ve also used Final Fantasy-type spells (complete with sound effects!) in my dreams when encountering threats.

In short, the connection between video games and controlling dreams has always been very obvious to me. I just found the study interesting as it relates to that connection.

Leave a Reply

