Superman and Clark Kent

Frater Barrabbas warns us on some of the dangers of a mage inflating his or her sense of importance and accomplishment. A good article on many points, which includes nods to credential collecting and magusitis.

But what really stands out to me here is something that I’ve missed previously: another function of a craft name/magical persona.

I have learned to function typically as a low key individual without any of the magical bombast when behaving as the normal middle aged man that I truly am, and to deliberately avoid being turned “on” unless my role as a magician requires it. This is also why I disguise my real name and identity from that of my magical persona so I can at least distinguish between them. I am certain that other magicians have this issue to deal with and have dealt with it each in their own different manner. A similar phenomenon can also afflict actors and especially comedians, but it also haunts magicians who have a larger than life magical persona.

Bloody brilliant. I’m a fool for not seeing the value in this earlier, especially given my Ceremonialist background.

I’ve been involved in many discussions on magical names. Most of them have touched on having a name that sets ritual space from mundane space, or in cases like mine from separating a community persona from a private persona for privacy or other concerns. But it never occurred to me that shifting from a magical name to a “real” name is in itself a form of grounding, and that separating a magical persona from one’s mundane personality might prove very effective in avoiding the trappings of magusitis and magical burn out.

Because despite what the mystics keep telling us, running in magical mode 24/7 is a great way to fuck one’s self.

2 responses to “Superman and Clark Kent

  1. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Magical Experiments

  2. The simplicity of his point makes it brilliant, yes. Even for a non-Ceremonialist, say a hedge witch (whatever that definition might be), the separation can be helpful and grounding. Even if every meal you prepare is a magical experience does not mean you’re in a full blown circle while mincing onions. I think we sometimes overlook how important mind-set is before starting something magical. We more frequently overlook how important leaving that mind-set behind is when we’re done.

Leave a Reply

