Neighborhood Wards

One of my tweeps made a comment about how the neighborhood she was living in was toxic and she needed to move. I’m not going to argue with someone’s assertion that she needs to move to a better environment: gods know the past year has show me the importance of leaving a place that you can’t thrive in. But such influences can be reduced or managed through effective warding.

I’ve already talked about warding your home, and I’ve even speculated about how you might ward a city. And in my own experience, I’ve had to struggle with warding a public space while living at a hotel. Warding a neighborhood is a more delicate and complex issue, because you’re probably doing it on your own, and you are probably trying to negate the influences of people who actually live there.

So I pondered the problem, and here’s what I came up with.

1) Identify the target. What are you trying to change? Reduce crime? Soften up one particular neighbor? Lessen the impact of an overbearing neighborhood association or similar group? Reduce the influence from nearby neighborhoods or commercial districts? Simply improve the mood or attitude of all of the residents?

2) Ward your own house securely. See link above. Depending on whether your are in a house or apartment, I would recommend a multi-layered system that protects your home, then your property, and then reduces the influence from the surrounding area. (Or which protects the apartment, the building, and the property.) Make sure that the ward on your home not only keeps negativity out, but grounds it or shunts it away in a responsible manner (I recommend using the plumbing) and also allows negativity in the house to escape, and positive energy from outside to come in. A mechanism that promotes positive energy is also a good idea.

3) Connect with the local spirits. There are surely spirits in the neighborhood that are associated with the unique feel or vibe to it. Work with  them. Appease them. Admonish them if need be. Get them on board to have more of a positive impact on the area and reduce conflict. A ritual or sacrifice to them disguised as a block party might not be a bad idea.

4) Consider anchor points or some other marker for the neighborhood. My suggestion is some manner of enchanted objects that can be left around the neighborhood and not disturbed, or a sigil that can be inscribed in discreet locations. The idea here is to work a webbing of energy through the neighborhood, with these points serving as knots or nexus points that radiate positive energy and mediate negative energy. This can be done along a perimeter, or at key points within the heart of the neighborhood.

5) Have a way to maintain it. Offerings at a key point, a regular walking circuit while sprinkling something, a regular and discreet visit to key points, something. Such a system will take quite a few hits on a regular basis, and must be flexible, adaptable, and easy to mend. For a complex system across a larger area, I would recommend a “repair servitor” that you feed at home and send out to maintain the system.

6) Don’t expect more than you can manage. This is a big job, made difficult by its scale and scope. Other people have different preferences for the energy they live in, and other residents or visitors to your neighborhood can disrupt what you are trying to do. A more subtle and gradual influence is more workable than a strong and immediate one. Work to suggest and gently influence, not to force and compel. Get help if you need it.

And now for some anecdotes.

I really only have two major warding stories.

One was the time I loved in Lawrence, Kansas. Lawrence is a college town with a well-earned reputation for partying, and I lived two blocks from downtown where all the bars are. On weekends a lot of drunk kids would stumble by my house and cause general chaos. In addition to that, we lived in a split house, with the lower level being one apartment and the upper level being a desperate one. The lady upstairs did not like us, and we got a lot of negativity from her.

I set up a system that protected our apartment from hers. This took some tweaking, as there was actually a pressure build-up or negative energy between the two levels that I had to work in a method fro draining. The I set up a protective system for the whole house, encompassing both apartments. I recognized that energy would be coming through the door, so I established the front porch as a “filter” area which would drain off excess energy going either way. And then I established a perimeter around the property to keep away thieves, overly rowdy or otherwise unsavory folks, and drunken debabaucherers. (This backfired once as I tried to give a drunk friend a place to stay for the night and she wouldn’t come in the house. Oops.)

I watched some people actually cross the street at the property line and cross back after passing the house. I once saw a guy on a bike nearly fall over when he hit the wards, and ride through the yard to the street instead of continuing in the sidewalk.

I later worked in a component to improve the mood of the neighborhood a bit, although it wasn’t a bad area by any means. But I did notice a gradual increase in mellow gatherings and parties in the area, and a bit more communication between neighbors. It was nice. (I miss living there.)

My other story was my biggest challenge: the hotel.

I took a job managing a low-budget hotel in Manhattan, Kansas. One of the perks was that I got to live rent-free in an on-site apartment. I did not think this through, as it meant that not only did I never actually leave work, but I would be in close proximity to the petty crime that cheap hotels attract.

So I got to deal with partying college kids, drunk soldiers, and belligerent cowboys. And I met the locals, too: drug dealers, gun runners, and prostitutes.

I started by heavily warding the apartment, with many of the precautions already mentioned above. I then managed to ward the office and other employee spaces. And then came the cleansing – 87 rooms worth of them, which included kicking out two demons, one of which was very stubborn. I put a light warding on each room as well. The property was divided into three buildings, and I cleansed and warding each one as a whole as well. Then I warded the parking lot.

Since I was running the hotel, I added a component encouraging people to stay calmer and quieter than they might normally be in such an environment. And to repel criminals and other troublemakers.

Then I warded the entire property. This ward kept out the energies of the surrounding commercial area, and dissipated negative energy on the property. It also served as a stronger repelling force for drug dealers and prostitutes, which I had a been problem with at that hotel. This component was rendered as a sigil that I inscribed on 100 Popsicle sticks that I stuck in the mud around the perimeter of the property.

All in all this system worked reasonably well, and helped to alleviate some of the problems I had and make my job a little easier. The problem is that I didn’t maintain it well, and after a few months it started to fall apart. It also worked well against petty crime, but didn’t have as much of an effect on more serious criminals (Although due to my good relationship with the police, I managed to personally help reduce meth sales in the Manhattan area. You’re welcome, Manhattan.)

Hopefully this give some ideas on problems you might need to consider to make a neighborhood more livable, and how your might go about implementing such a system. But as I said before, if you are truly in a difficult place that you are not thriving in, such a ward system is only a temporary measure and won’t solve everything.

2 responses to “Neighborhood Wards

    • I don’t worry much about that kind of stuff, because it isn’t focused enough. Everyone was freaking out over some major prayer event a while back to “stop pagan influence in congress” or some such nonsense. I very really doubt they have enough focus and oomph to have any significant impact.

      That even is what inspired me to speculate on city and neighborhood wards in the first place, though: http://blacklightmetaphysics.com/2011/07/31/prayer-wars/

Leave a Reply

