Witchcraft Days 8-10

Day 8: Does your family and/or friends know you practice witchcraft?

Most of them do. Of course, most of my friends are practitioners.

Most of the friends who don’t know are “work friends.” It’s just not something that comes up at work. If someone asked me what religion I was I’d probably tell them. (except for this one guy that I won’t tell because he’s a pretentious douche who thinks he knows everything and it drives him nuts that he can’t figure it out.)

With most people, friends and family, I won’t deny but I usually don’t advertise.

My Dad asks questions. My Mom complains to her friends. My uncle leaves cloves of garlic in my room.

Day 9: Do/Will you teach and practice witchcraft to your children? To others?

My ex-wife always referred to my magical practice as “that weird stuff [I’m] in to.” We came to an agreement that I would not teach my son any of the weird stuff until he came of age. He is being raised as a vague-ish Christian — I’d honestly call it more of a cultural Christianity than a strong religious one. The ex has allowed him to accompany me to several psychic fairs over the years, so he has had some exposure to things more in line with how I view the world.

If I ever have more kids, they will be raised as little witchlings.

Day 10: Have you ever faced discrimination for your views on witchcraft or how you practice?

From whom?

I honestly haven’t encountered a lot of discrimination from Christians. Many are eager to change my ways, and can be quite manipulative in their mechanations. (I had a cousin break into tears over my immortal soul. It was actually kind of sweet, in a dysfunctional kind of way.) I think the most I’ve really had to deal with is being told to put my tarot cards away at Denny’s.

Perkin’s never seemed to mind.

I have gotten shit from other Pagans.

The big one is not following the Rede (even though I’m not Wiccan). I got yelled at once for not believing in Karma (Even though I’m not Hindu or Buddhist).

On this blog I share a lot of opinions that are not in line with what a typical “Pagan” is “supposed” to hold to. On occasion some of those opinions get me into trouble. But not too much “discrimination.”

I was told once that I was a fake and a liar because men couldn’t do magic — only women had that power. That kind of pissed me off. And I’ve been made to feel unwelcome in some groups because I didn’t quite fit their idea of how a Pagan should be.

Again, not sure if that crosses the line to “discrimination.” But it can get annoying.

4 responses to “Witchcraft Days 8-10

  1. Pingback: Witchcraft Days 8-10 | Practical Pagans

  2. I sometimes play M:tG against one friend or another in local coffee shops and even Dennys. We just grab a good sized table after the lunch rush hour and spread out our cards next to our snacks. I stopped keeping track of the number of people who would swing by our table and ask if we were doing tarot, and almost always compliment on the cards’ artwork. Apparently people think tarot is done with multiple people doing a reading at once and with plenty of die scattered across the tabletop.

      • I’m sure a workable tarot deck could be hashed together with Magic cards, but when I have the time to fiddle around with those cards it’s to put together actual playable decks, not tarot-esque decks.

        And if I ever had kids I would teach them how to play Magic and leave their tarot education to people far more qualified than myself.

Leave a Reply

