Hello 2014

I keep saying that New Year’s resolutions are wasted effort. Because for a lot of people they are.

I think a lot of that is because they are vague and poorly planned out. Most of us don’t set goals or consider the steps to achieve those resolutions. What counts as success? What is your time frame? What is reasonable? What needs to be done first? What other obligations require your attention or resources?

And then there’s the simple fact that as a culture, we expect to fail at our resolutions. Most people I know who don’t make resolutions don’t do it because they see it as futile: they don’t expect to be successful. Add to that the fact that it is becoming more and more common to mock other people’s resolutions or to mock the whole concept with the accusations of “nobody ever keeps New Year’s resolutions.”

Well, don’t tell me what to do. I’m a wizard. I do what I want.

And this year I want to get stuff done.

About a month or so ago I developed a plan for 2014. It is specific enough to have reachable goals and deadlines, but flexible enough to allow for circumstance and setbacks. I still haven’t set these deadlines up on an actual calendar, so I can see them in order, but that shouldn’t take too much effort (and maybe a dry erase board).

I hope to feature a post at the end of every month tracking the progress of these.

So, for the review, here’s my list of Stuff I Want to Do in 2014:

So I have some goals for 2014. Instead of making vague promises, I want to have due dates for them to see how I’m doing, especially since some of these depend on others being achieved.

1) Career. This has three parts to it.

  • Develop a workable plan to complete college degree. Complete by End of January. [This will require money and reaching out to disappointed professors.]
  • Determine ideal career choice and plan to achieve it. Will depend on magical work and plan to finish degree. Hope to have done by June at the latest.
  • Find new job according to plan. Hope to achieve withing three months after establishing plan. September by the very latest. [Note: This does depend on what it will take to finish the degree. If I have to come up with $1500 do re-enroll in school, it will take a lot longer than September to accomplish this.]

2) Magic. I have some very specific magical goals.

  • Attain Knowledge and Conversation with my Holy Guardian Angel. This will need to be done before developing career plan. File under “Screw finding myself, I’m going to cheat and invoke myself.” This may take a while, and I’m not going to be following the strictest rules for this, but I’m hoping for June at the latest. [Biggest issue here is tools, since I’m doing ceremonial magick, and momentum, since this will be a daily thing.]
  • Revisit astrology studies. I will start with basic natal astrology (by February hope to have it down), relationship astrology (by April), transit astrology (by June), and progressed astrology (by August). By October I should be able to handle teaching someone.
  • Develop and facilitate a class/workshop on tarot. Determine whether the class will cover just the trumps or the entire deck. Determine whether the class will be a local thing or online via Skype. Hope to have it started by March. [I am seeking to acquire seating for my living room. I already have a few people interested in this workshop. I can probably get it underway by the beginning of February if I keep at it.]
  • Continue to work out principles of dealing with Empathy. Have at minimum an outline for a series of blogs posts by May, and possibly a book proposal by December. Include a means of explaining basic techniques to others. [My friend Sapphire has asked me to help her with this. This should make it easier to put these concepts and techniques into words.]
  • Make an effort at least once a month to visit an outdoor wildish space and connect with the spirits there.

3) Writing. I need to focus a bit more.

  • Continue blogging with a minimum of 5 posts on Blacklight a week. Hope to have one essay a month to submit to other sites like Witchvox. [I need to find ways to overcome writer’s block …]
  • Work to promote Blacklight more. Work to promote other blogs in the hope that those authors will return the favor. Have a Tumblr dedicated to this purpose by the end of January. [I am currently queuing posts from other blogs on my Tumblr and will continue the process. I may also regularly of semi-regularly post links to my own blog. I set up a Tumblog for the purpose of mutual blog prohibition and no one seemed interested. That idea has been abandoned. For now.]
  • Have a short story completed by the End of March.
  • Have an outline for a novel ready by the end of October. Seriously consider participating in NaNoWriMo.

4) Fitness. I need to get in shape.

  • Assess and regulate caloric intake. Do research into feasible goals by the end of January. [I’ve already lost weight since moving out of my parents’ house. This is partially due to the fact that I can control my portion size, partially due to the fact that I cannot afford all the crap that my parents had floating around, partially due to the fact that I eat better than they do anyway.]
  • Gym twice a week minimum starting in February. Add swimming once a week once the apartment pools open. [Gym still isn’t open at the apartment. I have a workout routine that I am hoping to do three times a week. I should keep a journal or calendar or something to track this.]
  • Have a realistic fitness goal set by end of March. [Be hot by the end of the year.]
  • Investigate taking dance lessons of any kind. Any style that is affordable.

5) Art. Writing isn’t enough.

  • Budget and plan for guitar lessons by April. [And singing if possible.]
  • Resume Brewing wine by February. At least one 5 gallon batch every two months or one one gallon batch every month. [Think this is a good date idea? “Wanna come over and help me make some wine?”]
  • Take up sculpting again. Start with sculpy. Hoping for at least one piece a month.
  • Start photography again. Going to try for one roll of film/shooting session a month, depending on costs.

6) Socializing. I need to talk to people.

  • Tumblr doesn’t count.
  • One phone call to a friend a day. [Going to make more effort to call Facebook friends. I may have to readjust this goal due to work schedule conflicts, though. It may not be practical to talk to someone everyday if I work nights and they work days.]
  • One visit to a friend every two weeks at least
  • Involvement in at least one Pagan meet-up or event every two months
  • Plan for Heartland Pagan Festival in May. Maybe bring someone along. [Have someone who wants to come along, at least for a day pass.]
  • Attempt to schedule at least every other Sabbat with the local coven I visit with. [Need to plan ahead. Work schedule conflicts are the worst here.]
  • Start dating again. It’s past time. At bare minimum one a month. [This is going to be tough. I don’t readily meet new people. This is … complicated. We’ll see.]
  • Consider Skyping with internet people. I should make you all earn the honor. My Skype account is, however, readily visible on my Tumblr. [This would be fun. I’d love to talk to some of you.]

These are all pretty detailed, and part of me wonders if that makes them less likely to achieve. And there’s a lot there. But I think if I take it on chunks it will be manageable.

I only have two wildcard factors that can impact my time. Those are the possibility of a relationship and Minecraft. I’ll just have to plan around those. [I’m about done with Minecraft. It takes up time and bandwidth and isn’t satisfying anymore.]

So there’s my plan. And here it is: my New Year’s Resolution.

For 2014, I hereby resolve to implement and achieve my plan of goals for 2014, making adjustments as need be, and to track and record my progress periodically.

So mote it be.

3 responses to “Hello 2014

  1. Pingback: Hello 2014 | Practical Pagans

  2. Pingback: January 2014 | Blacklight Metaphysics

  3. Pingback: April 2014 | Blacklight Metaphysics

Leave a Reply

