January 2014

I had listed out several long and short term goals for 2014. And since we’re about a week into February, I figured a status check on how I did through January was in order.

Develop a workable plan to complete college degree. Complete by End of January. [This will require money and reaching out to disappointed professors.]

Yeah, this hasn’t happened. I have made no efforts whatsoever toward this goal. I have come to the realization that since I am not seeking a job in academia, the completion of my master’s degree won’t offer me much additional consideration due to the field it is in. I already hold two bachelors’ degrees, and those count for quite a bit in the job market. By stressing over my master’s, I am discounting the work I have already done.

But I wanted to do the work, and did not. Fail.

Determine ideal career choice and plan to achieve it. Will depend on magical work and plan to finish degree. Hope to have done by June at the latest.

I still have plenty of time for this, but I mention it because I am working on finding not an ideal job but a better one, at least for now. I am barely getting by on my current income. If I do not remedy this soon I will certainly succumb to depression and despair. No, seriously: I am struggling to come up with the gas for work, and if I didn’t work at a restaurant I would not be eating. I have no financial resources to pursue artistic, entertainment, and social distractions. And I will be unable to attend Heartland Pagan Festival.

Sapphire has been helping me with my resume, and I will hopefully be able to make the jump into a new occupation that will compensate me better until I can decide on a more ideal career.

Attain Knowledge and Conversation with my Holy Guardian Angel. This will need to be done before developing career plan. File under “Screw finding myself, I’m going to cheat and invoke myself.” This may take a while, and I’m not going to be following the strictest rules for this, but I’m hoping for June at the latest. [Biggest issue here is tools, since I’m doing ceremonial magick, and momentum, since this will be a daily thing.]

I have made no efforts to begin this project. Part of that is inertia, part of it is the belief that I must acquire certain tools to perform this operation, and I cannot afford those tools. Both of those are mental blocks. I must get to work on this.

Revisit astrology studies. I will start with basic natal astrology (by February hope to have it down), relationship astrology (by April), transit astrology (by June), and progressed astrology (by August). By October I should be able to handle teaching someone.

I have not been studying my astrology. I still have some time to reach my goal, but I am finding little motivation for intellectual pursuits.

Develop and facilitate a class/workshop on tarot. Determine whether the class will cover just the trumps or the entire deck. Determine whether the class will be a local thing or online via Skype. Hope to have it started by March. [I am seeking to acquire seating for my living room. I already have a few people interested in this workshop. I can probably get it underway by the beginning of February if I keep at it.]

I was a bit optimistic here. I have made no efforts to put this class together. I am using my lack of furnishings and seating space as an excuse, but the truth is that the loss of a particular friendship has affected my desire to get this project underway.

Continue blogging with a minimum of 5 posts on Blacklight a week. Hope to have one essay a month to submit to other sites like Witchvox. [I need to find ways to overcome writer’s block …]

This is making me laugh. I have obviously not fulfilled this. I’ve been doing good on Tumblr by posting links to resource sites, but have little new content of my own to share. Fail.

Assess and regulate caloric intake. Do research into feasible goals by the end of January. [I’ve already lost weight since moving out of my parents’ house. This is partially due to the fact that I can control my portion size, partially due to the fact that I cannot afford all the crap that my parents had floating around, partially due to the fact that I eat better than they do anyway.]

I have been watching how much I eat and losing some weight, but i do not have an actual goal plan set. Partial success, I suppose.

Gym twice a week minimum starting in February. Add swimming once a week once the apartment pools open. [Gym still isn’t open at the apartment. I have a workout routine that I am hoping to do three times a week. I should keep a journal or calendar or something to track this.]

I have developed an effect means of tracking this. I haven’t worked out for two weeks. Part of that is due to an injured wrist (I can’t do push-ups), and part of it to laziness.

Fail.

  • Take up sculpting again. Start with sculpy. Hoping for at least one piece a month.

  • Start photography again. Going to try for one roll of film/shooting session a month, depending on costs.

I have been unable to afford the materials needed. Fail.

One phone call to a friend a day. [Going to make more effort to call Facebook friends. I may have to readjust this goal due to work schedule conflicts, though. It may not be practical to talk to someone everyday if I work nights and they work days.]

I have been way to reclusive. Fail.

Plan for Heartland Pagan Festival in May. Maybe bring someone along. [Have someone who wants to come along, at least for a day pass.]

Without a drastic change to my finances, I don’t think I’ll be able to go.

Start dating again. It’s past time. At bare minimum one a month. [This is going to be tough. I don’t readily meet new people. This is … complicated. We’ll see.]

I’ve actually been doing pretty good on this. Had three or four dates last month, have two women of potential interest. Just really self-conscious about my finances and my ability to go out. I need to reframe this and be more positive: there are women who enjoy my company. Success.

Consider Skyping with internet people. I should make you all earn the honor. My Skype account is, however, readily visible on my Tumblr. [This would be fun. I’d love to talk to some of you.]

I got a Snapchat, too. I closed off who I can receive snaps from, however, due to an influx of penis pics. If you friend me on either Skype or Snapchat, please find a way to let me know who you are.

Bottom line is I’m not doing too well. I’m becoming reclusive and depressed, and lacking in a lot of motivation. I have a lot of work to due this month, and hopefully I’ll find the resolve to do it.

2 responses to “January 2014

  1. Pingback: January 2014 | Practical Pagans

  2. I am getting told that your domain is closed, when I visit the site using the links in your emails.

     

    Ronald Mathews

    “Never lose your self-respect. Let your own self-judgement be more strict than all external laws.” “If tomorrow never comes (will they know how much you loved them)” Worry does not take away tomorrow’s troubles! It takes away today’s PEACE! “Don’t Borrow Sorrow From Tomorrow.” – Terri Clark If you lend a friend money and never hear from them again. Consider it as a payment that had them go away. It may just be the best purchase of your life. http://www.ironwordranch.com/ Criminologist Cesare Beccaria, writing in the 18th century, had a word to say about anti-freedom zealots. “False is the idea … that would take fire from men because it burns, and water because one may drown in it … The laws that forbid the carrying of arms are laws of such a nature.         

Leave a Reply

